english | deutsch
 
 
 
Wayne Ricardo Gibson
line
Steel Drum Soloist & Musician
 
 
 
Wayne Ricardo Gibson   My passion for playing came late at 15 years old, back in Barbados. My neighbour had a Steel Band and I was privileged to be able to spend time in his pan yard trying my hand at the instrument there.

As with most Caribbean musicians of that time, we played what instrument was available to us. And so I tried the Electric Bass, the Guitar, the Flute and all the different types of Steel Drums. As I travelled through Europe, I began to playing more and more the Steel Drums and much less the other instruments.

I still, on some occasions, keep up my skills on other instruments by playing at home on most of my recordings in the studio with the Bass and the Guitar. The Concert flute is now only for my private pleasure.

As well as Barbados I have worked on Cruise ships based in Miami/FL and Porte Rica, many years in England as a Soloist, and as musician in Jazz, Soca and Pop bands. While living in England I have also worked as a Steel Drum music teacher and lecturer in the South of England for 15 years, mainly giving workshops in age groups 6 years to Adults.

My old main bands are called Street Level (Jazz band) and Socafire (Caribbean Music band) from Dorset. The One World Band Project as well as many on Combos of all types and as a Soloist.

I have been living and working in Switzerland since 2007, playing with Ferrum Helveticum Steel and some old music colleagues who have also found the Swiss life idyllic. It’s a perfect base for both life and work.

 
 
 
 
line
Facebook Twitter MySpace

english | deutsch
 
 
 
Wayne Ricardo Gibson
line
Steel Drum Soloist & Musician
 
 
 
Wayne Ricardo Gibson   Ich bin auf Barbados in der Karibik aufgewachsen. Die Leidenschaft für die Musik entdeckte ich relativ spät, mit 15 Jahren: Mein Nachbar hatte eine Steelband und ich hatte das Privileg, viel Zeit in seinem Übungsraum zu verbringen und die Instrumente dort auszuprobieren.

Wie viele karibische Musiker in dieser Zeit spielte ich mit den Instrumenten, die zur Verfügung standen. Ich spielte elektrischen Bass, Gitarre, Querflöte und all die verschiedenen Steeldrums. Als ich dann nach Europa kam, wandte ich mich vermehrt der Steeldrum zu. Heute spiele ich Bass und Gitarre vor allem zu Hause und für Studioaufnahmen. Querflöte spiele ich nur noch zu meinem Vergnügen.

Ich war zuerst in Barbados als Musiker tätig, dann folgten Engagements auf Kreuzfahrtschiffen in der Karibik und in Florida. Später kam ich nach England, wo ich während rund 15 Jahren als Alleinunterhalter und in Bands tätig war. In meinen eigenen Bands – “Street Level” und “Socafire” – spielten wir Jazz bzw. Karibische Musik und Soca. In England unterrichtete ich auch Kinder ab 6 Jahren und Erwachsene, hielt Vorträge und gab Workshops.

Seit 2007 lebe und arbeite ich in der Schweiz, wo ich in der Steelband „Ferrum Helveticum“ spiele und mit anderen Musikern aus den verschiedensten musikalischen Bereichen zusammenarbeite. Die „Work-Life-Balance“ in der Schweiz ist für mich ideal.

 
 
 
 
line
Facebook Twitter MySpace